31 Arcadia High Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

An impressive 31 students from Arcadia High School have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. This prestigious recognition represents less than one percent of high school seniors in the United States. 

“I am amazed at how many of our students continue to reach this extraordinary level of academic success,” said David Vannasdall, Superintendent of Arcadia Unified School District. “I am extremely proud of these students, and am thrilled they are receiving this much-deserved recognition.” 

Approximately 1.4 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screening of applicants. Of the 16,000 semifinalists named, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level. Last year all 22 Arcadia High School semifinalists were named finalists. 

To become a finalist, the semifinalists and their high schools must submit a detailed

scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, honors and awards received, and satisfy other academic criteria. 

More than half of the finalists will be awarded a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar distinction. In February the finalists will be notified, and scholarships will be awarded starting in March and concluding in July. 

Arcadia High School National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists: (Alphabetical order)

Melody Basinger, Tridib Biswas, Dorothy Chang, Jared Chen, Jessica Chen, Rachel Chiu, Roy Cho, Kevin Chou, Kristy Chow, Allison Chu, Rueih-Sheng Fu, Allan Gao, Renee Gao, William Hsu, Stacey Irawan, Aneesh Khera, Joseph Kuo, Steven Kurniawidjaja, Jacky Kwok, Kathy Lee, Andrew Leung, Mei Liang, Stanley Lim, Jonathan Matsumoto, Justin Nghiem, Cibi Pari, Evan Wang, Kevin Wang, Justin Cheng-Yo Yeh, Erik Zhao, Kaiwen Zhou